That’s a wrap

I bought this Santa in college.

I bought this Santa in college.

This was the first year in many years I had a full size tree and used all of my ornaments. Over the years, they were gifts from friends or purchases I had made myself. The story of my life captured in glass.

This was a whirlwind year that included a lot establishing myself in my new community, new home, new job.   I fear I didn’t include you in on most of it as it was to say the least – rather dull in the telling.  At 56, it’s not easy to break into a new community.  In my free time, I’ve been taking classes.  There’s a new lavender wreath in the hallway I made at the botanical garden, my bones are stronger from a Pilates mat class I took.  Sadly, my foot seems a bit strained from another class I participated in at the gym.  I discovered an amazing cheese shop and the couple that own the health food store give me a hearty hello when I enter.  I’ve started waving to people on the street I recognize.  Baby steps towards becoming part of the community.  Baby steps in learning where I want to be and how I want to be defined within it.

On the job front, I can build pivot tables and excel has become my friend.  A year ago, I entered the board room and realized everyone there spoke in numbers.  It was frightening and I remained silent much of the time.  I speak in color, feelings and my decisions are informed by intuition.  I had to learn a new language to survive and yet not lose the one that has taken me thus far.  It has been difficult and with great pride I will confess that I have built a Cagr chart and explained it clearly without rolling my eyes once.  I have spent many a late night learning all of this.  Google is also my friend.  I know in 2017 there will be many more nights devoted towards learning.  At this moment in my life, I can’t believe I have such an opportunity as this.

On the apartment front, I have big plans for this place and these plans need money to fuel them.  I’m excited as I practice the art of patience.  Funds don’t grow as quickly as I would like and so I refrain from spending as I dream.

table-top

So, here we are entering into 2017.  My health is good, or as good as it will ever be.  I’m not really sure what to expect in the coming year.  If 2016 has taught me anything, surprises are around every corner.

Wishing all of you health, happiness and joy in the year ahead.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to That’s a wrap

  1. LB says:

    Mae, this post makes me happy. I have indeed wondered where you’ve been and am glad for this update. Getting to know your neighborhood, and learn skills for the new job are all good things, as is making your new place your home. You sound good!
    Does this mean you are traveling less?
    Wishing you much happiness, contentment, and health in the new year.

  2. elroyjones says:

    Love the Santa, Mae. Understand the whole busy/work/moving situation. Proud of you for mastering excel and other new things that are not “in color, feelings or intuition”. Feeling your pain and your pride. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

