A little Carpe Diem overload

The month of March was so jam packed that there was a strong possibility of emotional whiplash.  I am pleased to report that as I write this at the Fort Meyers airport, I have nothing more than the strong desire to go home.  

Last July a friend called and asked if I wanted to go to Vietnam.  I hadn’t thought let alone dreamed of such a trip and yet with a tour that boasted 5 star hotels, cooking classes, tours through their art museums by the curators themselves with an affordable price; I said yes.  March held the promise of dull from that hot, July day.  I couln’t have been more mistaken.  

I think I was in my last year of college when a bus trip to Washington DC was offered with tours of the museums there.  I was putting myself through college and the sum needed, I believe $50, was a lot for my budget to allow.  I remember turning over the thought to go in my mind as I blankly stared into a store window.  An old woman came up to me and said, “I just want to tell you something, when I was a girl I was offered a trip to India with a friend.  I decided not to go as I had only started my job and I was afraid they would fire me.  My friend went to India and her plane was met by her brother on an elephant and they had the most incredible and exotic time.  I wish I had gone as there was never another opportunity to tour India again.  My job was nothing special and I eventually found another.  Some experiences only happen once in a lifetime and you should take them.”  She then walked away.  No introduction, no further information.  She just blended back into the hum of New York City life and changed my view of the world forever. 

Of course, I took the bus trip to Washington DC.  There were no elephants meeting my bus but every trip I take shapes my mind a little differently by the end.  It was that woman’s advice I thought of as I signed myself up for two weeks in Vietnam.   It was indeed, a trip of a lifetime.  I traveled from March 1 – March 14 traveling from Saigon to Hanoi.  It was amazing and I hope to tell you more about it in another post.  You see, I came back from Vietnam only to finish packing for my move on March 22.  Yes, one week to pull the final roots up of 25 years spent in that apartment and 36 years on the Island of Manhattan.  I moved to Westchester or the “Continent” as I like to call it.  To add to an already mad plan, I cooked Easter dinner for 14 in my old empty apartment.  I strung Christmas lights on the walls using the nails that once held paintings as hooks to hold them in place.  Tables and chairs were rented, paper plates used for dinner and desert and all the rest packed up in my car after the party.  I drove to my new home after the party with pots and pans in the trunk.  We left the old place with laughter echoing still and what I consider some of the best karma for the new tenants yet to be signed.  

The day after Easter I had to fly to Texas for meetings that week.  I was home only two days when I took off for Florida. More meetings and then a trip with coworkers to celebrate an excellent year of sales.  I’m sitting here now at the airport waiting for my flight.  I hear it’s 34 degrees which is dismal compared to the 80 I have enjoyed for a week.  I’m looking forward to unpacking the boxes that fill my home as I begin to nestle in as my future in Westchester unfolds.  Yes, March was rather madcap but I wouldn’t change a thing about it.  My only regret is I didn’t recount any of it for you as it happened.  Too many days being siezed and not enough reflection.  You’ll be seeing more from me in no specific order…. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A little Carpe Diem overload

  1. tw says:

    I’ve missed you Mae but it sounds like you’ve been very busy, as well as having an amazing trip. I will hold on to the words that lady spoke to you too, they are so true…

    • maesprose says:

      I’ll be around more… the last few months have been completely wild. Uprooting my world and then now trying to settle in has been challenging. It’s all coming together slowly… but I’m sort of enjoying that!

  2. LB says:

    I cannot tell you how much it pleases me to read this post, Mae!
    Everything about it, I just loved.
    The story of the woman who encouraged you to travel.
    Vietnam!!
    The Easter Dinner in your former home,
    Knowing you are settling into your new home.
    I anxiously await more stories!!

Leave a Reply

