Moving right along

Train Tracks

I put a bid in on an apartment this past Monday.  It was declined and I put another in this morning.  Fingers crossed they accept.  Truth is, the apartment is part of an estate and I fear the lawyers aren’t motivated to sell.  I love it though and hope against hope they accept my offer.  We’ll find out soon enough.

If my bid is accepted, I’ll have to go before a COOP board for approval.  I’m starting to feel like I’m competing in a Miss America contest.  A friend that is a lawyer tells me I’ll have to dress accordingly.  My best jewelry but not too much.  Expensive shoes would help.  The board can be rigid and judgmental.  I’m not sure if the aerial view of my finances will pass muster.  This board already declined two others before me.

After the apartment fell through a few weeks ago, I knew I needed to get serious.  This past October I finally bit the bullet and found a realtor named Hugh.  My dream is to move and if I don’t take the time to make it happen, it won’t.  So, Hugh and I have been meeting on afternoons after I jump off planes or on weekends.  He’s shown me a number of apartments.  They vary in size and location.  Some allow pets, some don’t.  In the end, I know immediately after I walk in if the apartment is right or not.  This one needs to be renovated but I’m excited with the possibilities it holds.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Moving right along

  1. John says:

    Fingers crossed! The housing market in NYC is fascinating … it seems like something from another country entirely. Here in the sprawling mid-west, you find the apartment you like, they check your credit, you give a deposit, and done. Of course, I know apartments in NYC aren’t all rented – some you buy: we call those condos. I’ve always had the sense if you said to a NYC apartment owner “Nice condo” they’d be offended. 🙂

    • maesprose says:

      You can say “Nice Condo” and no one would be offended. You can even say, “Nice Flat.” Just don’t say, “Reminds me of the perfect doublewide.” Nobody would be pleased.

  2. elroyjones says:

    You’ll find the right one, Mae. I like to believe for every door that closes another opens and if a deal falls through it’s because it wasn’t the one that is meant for you.

    • maesprose says:

      This may be the right one. Part of the problem is I haven’t done this kind of dance in years. Doesn’t help if you don’t know the steps… I’ll go over and check in on how you’re doing.

  3. LB says:

    Mae, it’s so nice to be catching up with you! The campaign was long and I am far behind.
    It’s been 3 days since you posted: any news?
    I’m so excited that you are actively working on a new home. Fingers crossed!!!

    • maesprose says:

      Laurie – My bid was accepted. I’ve been on cloud nine since but my mood is not in Sync with the rest of the world in light of what has happened in France. I’m keeping a low profile. I still have to meet with the board and once they accept me, there is no limit to my happiness. Keep your fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

