Close but no sale

Chair sunlight

I almost bought an apartment this week.

It was filled with charm and I was smitten.  I fell in love with the location, north of the city but not too north.  I could keep my doctors, friends and my hairdresser as they would still be a quick drive into Manhattan.  Yes, keeping my support team is very important.  Everything was perfect until we came down to the finances.  The building was poorly run and the largest investment of my life would begin on an ice patch.  I wasn’t prepared for that and let go of my charming dream.  The silver lining is I now know the area I like.  There will be other apartments.  I am disappointed but relieved it was only time I had invested.

Bank and Main

In the meantime, my banker is good to go and I now have a real estate lawyer.  My confidence is a bit stronger too.  When I pull the trigger next time my team will be in place.  I’ll also like to hear any tales you’d want to share in the real estate vein.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Close but no sale

  1. LB says:

    I’m glad you weren’t so smitten that you moved forward with the charming apartment despite your concerns! I’m excited that you have your team in place and I look forward to hearing more about this journey, Mae.

  2. elroyjones says:

    My sister has a condo and our business has worked with several owner’s associations on various properties/projects. Read the bylaws carefully and note restrictions, particularly regarding rental/subletting. You never know Mae, a wonderful opportunity for an extended leisurely journey could present itself and you could be of a mind to sublet to offset the expense.
    I advise against building- exhausting- plans inside of plans on top of schedules beside calendars inside deadlines. I know it could be a lot worse, I could have nowhere to live at all.

  3. maesprose says:

    Elroy – I hadn’t thought about subletting. You’re right though. As far as building…. once your building is finished I have no doubt I will be drooling over it!

Leave a Reply

