Nothing a few needles couldn’t fix

Flowers Pink

Way back in May I sneezed.  There were repercussions.

My chiropractor said it effected vertebra 1 and 2.  I had a headaches that felt like my brain was freezing.  It would happen randomly.  I’d be walking up stairs from the subway and bam… brain freeze.  She adjusted me a few times and the brain numbness went away but three of my fingers and part of my arm would tingle towards numbness. This happened often throughout the day and at times woke me in the night.  I would talk about it and that dreadful sneeze.  I hold the back of my neck now when I feel one coming on.

I knew more should be done so I called in the big guns.  Well, not exactly but I broadened my care to another practice.  Last weekend, I met up with my acupuncturist at Sloan.  He said something must be leaning on a nerve.  While he was at it he thought he’d get the lymph moving too for my arm.  He did his magic sticking me with needles here there and everywhere.  I fell into a mellow state as I lay on the table.  By the time I left, a two year old could have mugged me.  I was that relaxed.  I’m not sure that is the best analogy but I think you get my drift.

As I departed my doctor said to go back to the chiropractor for another adjustment and I did the next day.

Crack, snapple, pop…. the sensations are just about abated which is perfect timing.  I’m leaving for vacation tomorrow!

Flower in Yard

We’re headed up to the little house on the lake.  Our yearly family get together with all of my siblings, nieces and father gathered in one place.  This is the week when we talk about what we are bringing.  Planning, we’re all into the planning.  This year we’re staying close to the house.  My Dad has had dizzy spells and we know we can’t wear him out.   We’re fine with this as it gives us an excuse to do nothing.  I’m bringing art supplies that are encased in dust.  It’s time to sketch and paint again… maybe even write a few extra posts!

 

This entry was posted in Essay, Father. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Nothing a few needles couldn’t fix

  1. Gary Holmes says:

    I went to an acupuncturist once for what turned out to be a frozen shoulder. It didn’t help and I ended up doing six months of physical therapy. Still, it was a nice way to spend three half hours.

  2. Terry says:

    Have a great vacation!!!

  3. Sounds like a great time. I’m glad you’re feeling better.

  4. maesprose says:

    Thank you Donna – I’m happy too!

  5. LB says:

    How wonderful that you got such relief! And perfect timing, too.
    I remember you writing about this annual gathering with family. Have fun … be lazy, create, relax!

  6. tw says:

    Glad that you’re getting back to normal Mae, the freezing brain and other sneeze-related issues don’t sound at all nice. Wishing you a lovely vacation 🚤

  7. John says:

    I’m very behind on my blog reading … so I’m guessing you’re back from vacation. I hope you and your family had a great time!

    Glad to know the alternative treatments worked. There’s nothing like a good chiropractor!

Leave a Reply

