Mother’s Day

IMG_0012

We had celebrated Mother’s Day with my sister Colleen on Saturday.  Well, it really wasn’t a celebration.  My niece M. has challenging feet and the three Day sisters met up at Harry’s Shoes on the Upper West Side.  The store was filled with weathered souls whose feet had the look of gnarly winter branches.  In amongst the winter grey heads was M.  looking overwhelmed as the youngest client in the room.  On the cusp of adulthood, her foot challenges have damned her to shop in places with those beyond her years.  There will be no stories of dancing the night away in 4″ heels or any fanciful shoe purchase.  Hers is a future of sensible shoes.  We were there to rally her on and catch a visit with each other amongst the footwear.

As luck would have it we met Amhed, the shoe salesman for problem cases.  He held M’s foot, asked her where the pain usually was and diagnosed what shoes would be best for her.  He had such a magical manner that we all wanted to put our feet in his hands.

We imagined asking, “Tell me what is best for these feet Ahmed!” Eyes batting naturally as this is a dream sequence.

You’ll be pleased to know we resisted the desire and let M. be Cinderella for the day.  Ahmed searched the store keeping in mind her young age and brought back boxes upon boxes of shoes.  “He asked about the comfort of her toes and arches while we three sat on the sidelines swooning.  Eventually, he found her 3 pairs of shoes and one in particular screamed adorable.  A girl damned to sensible shoes at an early age rarely can look down and see such cuteness wrapped around her toes.  We three were so thrilled that all of the shoes were purchased.  M starts her summer internship in a few weeks and we wanted her to start with her best foot (wear) forward.

St Peters Church back garden

I am so sorry that I didn’t take any photos of the purchased shoes.  Instead, I am showing photos from a week ago of St Peters Church in Chelsea.  Warmer weather is here and the flowers are just beautiful

Switching topics completely, this month marks the beginning of my 5th year of being NED (No Evidence of Disease).  This is an anniversary that is celebrated and noted in my head only.  You don’t throw parties to remember moments like your lumpectomy or mastectomy.  I don’t even want to think what the cake would look like.  I digress.   My big Woo Hoo has been dampened with the diagnosis of Osteopenia.  I don’t have Osteoporosis yet but if things keep up the way they do it is likely going to be part o my future.  I’m now in the midst of testing and will be seeing a physical therapist to learn what exercises I should be doing.  As it turns out, Pilates and Yoga don’t build bone strength.  I will let you know what I learn and welcome suggestions from those who are facing the same challenge.

In the meantime, I hope you are all enjoying the month of May.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mother’s Day

  1. John says:

    Five years NED. I think that’s worthy of cake. Maybe not a ‘themed” cake, but something suitably luscious and rich!

  2. marydpierce says:

    You could celebrate by taking of photo of something small, but beautiful, something you would miss seeing were you not here because you are here and that IS a celebration. That is good.

    On the osteopenia issue, I, too have been diagnosed with that. Right away, my doctor wanted to put me on Fosamax but I declined. My mother was diagnosed with osteoporosis twenty years ago. For years, she was on Fosamax and her bone density kept getting worse (according to bone density scans). Then her doctor put her on Fosamax and Miacalcin together. No improvement whatsoever. But her liver enzymes kept increasing over time to such an alarming number her doctor finally took her off everything. Eventually, her liver enzyme count improved. It’s been about 7 or 8 years since she stopped taking anything for the osteoporosis.

    I did a lot of research into the subject. The thing that stood out the most for me was that as scary as the medical community and drug companies paint osteoporosis out to be, having it does not mean that it is a foregone conclusion that you will break a bone or bones. It means that you have an increased risk of breaking bones. Also, there is a risk of jawbone deterioration with taking Fosamax. It is evidently enough of a concern that my endodontist asked me if I was on it when I went in for an oral procedure due to a failed root canal. He needed to go into the jawbone to do the procedure. I have had a couple of serious surgeries on my jaw over the years, so the health of my jawbone is important to me.

    The fact is that my mother is 84 years old now. In the past 12 years, she has had three bad falls: The first while walking a big dog who pulled sharply on its leash and my mother fell hard on a patch of ice. She was bruised a bit and sore. The second fall also resulted in bruising, but nothing broken. The last time was nearly two years ago. She forgot her purse and ran up the porch steps to go get it, trip on a step and landed with her arm down across the steps. She broke her radius bone. It was a simple fracture and healed quickly without complications.

    Based on all that, I have decided that I will not be having any more bone density scans unless a serious issue comes up. Regardless, I will not be taking any of the prescription drugs they currently have for osteoporosis. I do yoga for my joints to keep them flexible. I do fast walking (4mph) on a treadmill and I exercise with small weights. I feel that for me, that is the best option. It’s not necessarily best for everyone. At any rate, that’s my two cents on the subject. I hope it’s helpful.

    That you are here to face this issue is kind of a good thing!

    • maesprose says:

      Mary, thank you so much for your reply. The Osteopenia topic caught me completely by surprise. As of this moment, I’m not going to take the medication – I’m taking the wait and see route too. I’m going to a physical therapist on Monday to teach me the proper exercises to build bone. I’ll let you know how that goes! You’re right though, I should do something to celebrate just being here. I’m thinking hard on this one as to what the photo should be!

  3. LB says:

    The story of M and her shoes is wonderful! Thank you for sharing, and yes, I would have loved to see the shoes that Ahmed found for her.
    To say I am thrilled for you to reach that 5th anniversary is an understatement! Here’s a big Woo Hoo for you!!!

Leave a Reply

