March memories and such

Highline March is a raw month.  The weather has been described at times as lion or lamb.  No matter which, it is never beautiful. My first pet, a cat named Ebony, was born on March 12.  He was taken from his mother too soon which made him very attached to us.  We used to celebrate his birth with ice-cream cakes, song and gifts of catnip.  We’d decorate for the celebration and I realize now it was an excuse to cheer up a rather dismal month.  Ebony would have been 44 last week.  Within the last 31 years, Saint has been added to his first name.  Because he was our first cat, we did not know how unusual it was that he liked to sleep in a doll carriage with doll clothes on.  Well, the clothing was my idea.   Returning home from school, he’d be waiting for us in the carriage ready for an afternoon of dresses and walks about town.  The perfect cat for a house filled with young girls. ChickThis past weekend the girls got together again at my Dad’s house.  My brother lives with him and announced months ago that he was taking a vacation this week.  Realizing my father would be alone, my sisters, nieces and I met up at his house.  It was a “chick” weekend with the lone rooster.  We cleaned and organized his kitchen a bit and talked for hours around the big oak table.  Serious, humorous or just about nothing at all.  Sometimes, my Dad removed his hearing aids as it is easier to watch us talk than actually listen.  He whistles when he is happy and this weekend the house was filled with the sound of unrecognizable song. Fifty Shades ofMy niece J. is caught up in the Fifty Shades series.  We keep asking for book reviews and it is my niece M. that gives it.  She is not as enamored as J.  I long for the days when it was Harry Potter she devoured.

This entry was posted in Essay, Father. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to March memories and such

  1. Don Ostertag says:

    I long for the days when it was Harry Potter she devoured.
    What a great liine!

  2. tw says:

    You made me think about March and now that I do, I agree it is a raw month. A good time to spend time with family, or very special cats 🙂

    • maesprose says:

      I couldn’t agree more! Though, it’s now April which doesn’t seem much different than March at the moment. I’m sure though your garden must be showing signs of life!

  3. LB says:

    Mae, that story of Ebony, the doll carriage in the doll clothes cracked me up!!
    So glad you got to spend time with your sisters and your father

  4. Jeannie says:

    Loved the story of Ebony : ) My childhood cat, Harold, was highly resistant to wearing dolly dresses and riding in the carriage…why oh why…the cat in one of our storybooks seemed to really enjoy the experience. I guess Harold hadn’t read the book since he took to hiding under the lawnmower any time I was in sight. Glad to know it worked out for someone : ) Thanks for the March smiles!

    • maesprose says:

      Glad I could give you a smile. I am sorry Harold didn’t discover the joy of carriage rides. A cat in doll clothes is so much more fun than a doll! Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

