Rainy days

 

Rainy Days

It rained today.

Poured really.

“Like cats and dogs.”  My cab driver used this description haltingly.  I think he was trying out the term as English wasn’t his native tongue.  I agreed and he seemed very pleased.

I like rainy days.  I feel like they give me permission to be quiet and a bit leisurely.  I still did Pilates, yoga and a bit of bouncing on the trampoline but I did it in a quiet manner without having to rush things along.  Yes you read correctly, I bought a trampoline a few weeks ago.  It’s a tiny thing that folds up and can be tucked under the bed if need be.  The more professional term is rebounder and gently jumping up and down helps with moving lymph.  I’m all about moving lymph.

Secretly, I’m also hoping the added cardio helps keep my winter weight where it is now.  I  tend to gain 5 lbs in the winter and then it takes me all summer and fall to lose it again.  In truth, I’m not sure I actually lost the weight from last winter or I just got used to the numbers.

Anyway, I’m hoping all of you enjoyed your Sunday.  I’ll let you know in a few months if the rebounder purchase was a good one.  In the meantime, I’m going to enjoy what is left of this rainy day.

 

This entry was posted in Essay, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rainy days

  1. marydpierce says:

    I hate rainy days. It unnerves me, and makes me feel anxious. I don’t know why, but it has always been so. I have a little trampoline. A friend who was moving gave it to me years ago. I loved boouncing on it to music. When our son was about three or four (and very active), I had my husband weld a stability bar to it, so the Boy could bounce himself silly while holding on. It’s in the basement now. Maybe I should get it out.

  2. maesprose says:

    Aw Mary, I’m sorry to hear you don’t like rainy days. Maybe it’s the air pressure that is getting to you.
    I’m loving the trampoline on these freezing cold days. It’s keeping me active and warm. You should try it again!

  3. I love rainy days when I can curl up with a good book and ignore it!

  4. LB says:

    The only time I don’t like a rainy day is when I have an outdoor event planned. Other than that, I too love a rainy day. These days encourage us to slow down.

Leave a Reply

