I have a question. Actually, 365 of them.

Q & A

Happy New Year!

My friend Julia gave me the book pictured above for Christmas.  It’s a journal of sorts with 365 questions in it and under each question 5 lines.  The idea is to answer one question a day for five years.  I’m enthralled and feeling accomplished at day 4.  Let’s discuss again at day 465.

For New Year’s I drove to Worthington, Massachusetts.  If I had stayed in New York, I would have worked.  I am inundated with follow-up and imputing data into my computer  this time of year.   It becomes addictive as the due date for this project is January 15.  My bonus is connected to this information so you can imagine my motivation.  Still, I had no desire to start the year hunched over the computer.  I called my friend James.

Worthington Barn

“May I spend New Year’s with you?”

The building above is a shed you can see from the main house.  James didn’t miss a beat.  “Of course.  Stay as long as you like.”

Sun on Chair

The house in Worthington is perfect for reading and relaxing.  Time seems to slow down as I am finally able to enjoy the sun creeping across the room.  There are woods to walk through and a dog that teaches the art of joy.  His enthusiasm for life is contagious.

Dog in Window

We welcomed the New Year in at a local neighborhood party.  I slept late, ate well and laughed with friends who have known me for over 32 years.  The year 2015 started out perfectly.  I’m hoping it was the same for you!

This entry was posted in Essay, Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I have a question. Actually, 365 of them.

  1. Dean B says:

    I love houses where you feel as if time stands still… could be dangerous too actually! Anyway, hope the year 2015 fills you with more blessings and good health 🙂

  2. Terry says:

    I know 2015 will be a great one! Happy New Year!

  3. LB says:

    What a wonderful way to start the year, Mae. I’m hoping you meet your deadline (I know you will) and you can enjoy the rewards!

  4. maesprose says:

    Thanks Laurie! I’m still working on the numbers but it looks good!

  5. nancyspoint says:

    Hi Mae,
    I’m glad you got out of town and didn’t spend New Year’s working. Sounds like you had a marvelous time. I hope you figured out all those numbers and got, or will get that bonus! Can you believe the first month of the New Year is almost over already? By the way, how’s it going with that question a day thing?

Leave a Reply

