Another trip around the sun

Bucket in Polaroid It’s my birthday today. Yes, another orbit around the sun complete and I couldn’t be happier.  I’m healthy, not so wealthy but so much wiser.  Two out of three and if I were to be lacking in something, I don’t mind that it’s a few shekels in my purse and little else.  Well, I also could use more time in my day.  I’m not sure what happened as years ago, I seemed to be able to do so much more with the allotted 24.  Now, I’m struggling to get to bed at a decent hour! Weed against wall While in Scotland, I wanted to capture every last detail.  My senses were on overload and when I saw this weed by the barn next to the textured wall, I just wanted to capture it.  I’m not sure why I was so enthralled by it but I was.  I loved the way it looked.  I set about photographing it the moment I saw it.  I mean I really photographed it.  First with my IPhone, then digital, film, and finally with my Polaroid.  It’s the Polaroid version I like best.  I did this over three days while entering or leaving my friend’s house.  The light changed, my camera changed, my mood and well, you get my drift.

I vaguely remember being watched by Merlin.  In hindsight, I realize now he might have been examining me the same as I the weed. Merlin is a rescue horse with a bad attitude. It took him a while to love his mistress but  now there seems to be no one else in the world he can bear the company of.  He kept his distance from me.  I’d call his name at the gate but he’d only move further away.  I even tried to lure him over with a carrot but he wanted none of that.  There would be no making friends with Merlin. On the third day of my visit, I was there when Merlin was brought in from the field at night to be put to bed.

Thomp, thomp, thomp.

You could hear him galloping in the darkness at an alarming pace.  Up close, Merlin is huge.  He passed the weed everyday for weeks but on this night, the third day of my visit, he swerved and pulled it out of the ground with one smooth swoop.  I stood there shocked as he slowly munched on my weed while looking me straight in the eye.  I’m still debating if his look was evil or mischievous.

What I do know is to seize my opportunities as they come.  Merlin did. I don’t know if it was to snack or annoy the visiting stranger.  Maybe a little of both.  I decided last February to enjoy my travel for what it is – an adventure wrapped in the mundane cloak of work.  There are weeks that are exhausting but in retrospect, it has been fun.  I would never be able so see the world as I do on my own budget.  I just hope my future muses don’t always get chewed up!

By the way, that’s Merlin’s bucket up at the top of this post.  I was going to open with the observation that I hadn’t kicked it yet.  Instead, I seem to be ending on that note!  Enjoy your day!

This entry was posted in Essay. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Another trip around the sun

  1. Dean B says:

    Happy Birthday! Hope you have a lovely one. Love the story about Merlin the rescue horse, except for the part where he pulled-out, ate and actually watched you, watching him eat your “muse”. What a horse! What a story!

  2. K C Eames says:

    A belated Hoppy Bird Day to you. Did you send Merlin a bite of cake?

  3. Terry says:

    I love your poloroids….. they are awesome!

  4. maesprose says:

    Terry – thank you so much!

  5. dear Mae,

    I hope you had a very Happy Birthday. I have decided b’days are just to darn important to have only one day, or even a long week-end to be celebrated. so…I wish you an entire birthday year filled with good health, happiness, love, cake whenever you want it (ummm, CAKE!) continued fulfillment with your beautiful photography, and many happy serendipitous gifts along the way.

    I bet you will be pondering ‘ole Merlin’s hijinks for a long while. did he have big teeth?

    much love,

    Karen ooox

  6. LB says:

    It is seeing the beauty, character, uniqueness of something and wanting to capture it in just the way the mind and eye see it that keeps us pushing the shutter. I totally get taking the same shot over and over. That weed against that wall just captured you! I like that one and Merlin’s bucket.
    You tell the story of Merlin so well, Mae, that I was able to visualize him.
    Hope your birthday was a happy one for you. Thanks for sharing it with us!
    Happy Birthday!

  7. tw says:

    A belated Happy Birthday Mae, wishing you many more happy, healthy and wise revolutions around our beautiful sun 🙂

  8. John says:

    I’m rather late … but, Happy ‘Another Journey Round The Sun’ … make sure to celebrate it every day!

Leave a Reply

