Ready, set ……

ListAt 3:45 tomorrow morning a car will be whisking me away to the airport.  I am too excited to sleep which I will regret right about 3:00 AM.  I’ve been packing since Sunday.  At first, I over-pack by throwing everything I think I will need or want.  Then I repack again and edit.  Just a few hours ago, I did my last edit.  The truth is, my excitement is so great that fussing with my luggage seemed like the most logical thing to do.  That and making lists.

My lists are on the back of envelopes, on sheets of pristine paper and old cardboard.  They are everywhere and each has a tiny reminder for me.  Right now the door has a post-it note with the word salad on it.  I don’t want to forget my midair lunch which is nothing but healthy goodness.

I’m headed to Scotland to visit a friend and photograph.  I had the last of my appointments up at Sloan today and was pronounced “clean as a whistle.”  That proclamation is probably adding to my unbridled excitement.

I’ll be back in two weeks.  With photographs, stories and hopefully a rested soul.  Enjoy yourselves and if the stone cottage I’m staying in has service…. I just might visit with a few of you!

This entry was posted in Essay. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Ready, set ……

  1. marydpierce says:

    So happy for the whistle clean proclamation. Have fun in Scotland! Can’t wait to hear about it!

  2. Gary Holmes says:

    Meg and I spent our honeymoon in Scotland. Great place.

  3. Dean B says:

    Congratulations on the clean slate! 🙂 I love Scotland, such a beautiful country AND it is still part of the UK 😉

  4. elroyjones says:

    Happiness and excitement abounds!

  5. tw says:

    Have a wonderful time Mae and what brilliant news on your clean bill of health 🙂

  6. Don Ostertag says:

    Wonderful news, Mae! Have to tell us all about Scotland.

  7. LB says:

    Oh gosh, how am I getting here two days late? You are already in Scotland and I am so excited for you. I can’t wait to see and hear all about it, Mae.
    I’m thrilled about the “clean as a whistle” report and almost as excited about the fact that you have TWO WEEKS OFF!
    Enjoy everything!

    • maesprose says:

      Two weeks is really a nice chunk of time. Years ago I used to go for three weeks but times have changed and I can’t take so much time anymore. One day… one day

Leave a Reply

