One more year closer to 100

91

Well, my dad burned through another year.  He celebrated his 91st birthday today.  My brother, sisters and I all took off from work so that we could be with him.  He was pleased.

We took him to a Mexican restaurant where he didn’t recognize the food but enjoyed it just the same.  He’s a meat and potatoes kind of guy but still game for something new even now.  We sang over two bowls of pudding, one for him and the other for the rest of us.  We have to monitor our pudding intake while he just about licked his bowl clean.  Not one of us has his amazing health.  It was then he informed us his goal was to turn 100.  We all laughed and smiled.  I have no doubt he will make it, I just want him to stay as healthy as he is.

This entry was posted in Father. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One more year closer to 100

  1. John says:

    Happy birthday Mae’s dad! My mom will be 91 in November.

    My mom is a meat & potatoes kind of woman … I think it’s partially a generational thing — variety was fairly limited during the Depression years — especially in certain communities. Where my mom grew up you were either Irish, Scotch or Italian.

    Here’s to 100!

    • maesprose says:

      Thanks for the good wishes! I think my dad is a bit like your mom. He’s Irish and German. His mother gave the Irish as bad name when it came to cooking.

  2. LB says:

    How great is it that he is so game to try a new food experience on his birthday! and how wonderful that you all took off work to be together and celebrate with him.
    Happy Birthday to your father!!

  3. marydpierce says:

    Something tells me your dad will make it to that milestone. Besides his good health, he definitely has the right attitude. Adding my happy birthday wishes to the lot, although a little late.

    P.S. I like “burned through another year.” It certainly feels like that.

Leave a Reply

