Sunday

Roses

I took the day for my own pleasures.

Overview of the High LIne

Travel for work and various celebrations held by family and friends dot my calendar. I’m away from home more than not and constantly placating to the whims and wishes of others. Yesterday, I realized midway through a graduation party that I had enough energy to drive the 2.5 hours home. Waking in my own bed sounded like a dream in itself.

This morning held not a single plan. I was supposed to be in Pennsylvania. The day stretched out before me and I adopted the attitude of a cat. Languid movements as I headed out the door towards the High Line. I packed up my book, my camera and then ordered a latte at The Grumpy Café. I slowly meandered the side streets towards the entrance on 23rd Street.  Stopped to photograph the roses here and there.   Having so much time felt like a luxury and once up into the park, I soon settled onto a wooden lounge chair. I am reading The Paris Wife by Paula MCLain. It’s based on Hadley Richardson who was Hemmingway’s first wife. It was those years with her that he then later wrote The Moveable Feast. For the first time in my life, I’m interested in reading Hemmingway again. I haven’t since High School and I’m not sure I was ready for him then.

Relaxing on the High Line

While lounging, I texted a neighborhood friend to meet up. We made plans for brunch at Sarabeth’s in Chelsea Market. The eggs are good and in truth, it was the conversation I was craving. We settled around a tiny table in the corner , cradled cups of coffee and filled hours with stories and laughter.  Time flew, which didn’t matter since there was no particular need anchoring the day.

Chelsea Market outside

 

Later, I meant to clean my apartment but thought seeing a movie would be more fun.   I headed over to the Angelika theater where the movie Supermensch; The Legend of Shep Gordan played.  The Angelika is a small theater that placates to a heady crowd.  They have a cafe out front with wooden floors and show only Indie films in the theaters below.  I nestled into my seat in the hushed darkness.  Across the aisle was Mario Batali who strangely enough, was also briefly in the movie.

Shep Gordan is someone who seemed to be able to size up any situation and made the most of it.  I’m hoping to apply some of that attitude starting tomorrow.  Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Essay. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday

  1. LB says:

    You did size up the situation and made the absolute best of it! What a lovely, lovely day these unexpected gifts of time to meander, stroll, breathe, enjoy, embrace.
    So well deserved, Mae!

  2. elroyjones says:

    A day of nothing pressing is a treat.
    I loved Hadley Richardson, I read “Hadley” by Gioia Diliberto a long time ago and for I while I thought I’d change my name.
    Now, I think I’d change my name to Arugala, just because I like to say it. Maybe I’ll start answering the phone that way for work, “This is Arugala, how may I help you?”

    • maesprose says:

      Hmmm, I may have to look up the book “Hadley”. I found her fascinating. As for the name Arugala, I think it would be fun for a while and then the novelty would wilt. Have a great weekend!

  3. what a fabulous day! I’m now inspired to have one of my own.

Leave a Reply

