A Wing and a Prayer

Wing and a Prayer

Sometimes, I read my horoscope. It’s merely for fun or when things feel futile and I need an excuse as to why. Yesterday morning I awoke in Dallas and the Blood Moon was reported on the news with a hint of magical wonder. Captured by someone who had stayed up late to watch and photograph the phenomena, the photo was beautiful. I remembered with dread that this moon was supposed to wreak havoc in its wake and then proceeded to find facts to substantiate this theory. It wasn’t hard as after a day of meetings, I was headed home by air. In retrospect, I’m surprised I didn’t ponder staying an extra day. My initial flight was delayed 3 hours so I changed my ticket for a flight leaving a bit earlier. My seat was way in the back of the plane and I sighed sadly as the plane pulled back from the gate and then then parked in a side lot waiting for LaGuardia to call us home. Rain, high winds and 90% chance of snow were reported. I’ve been in that side lot before and it hadn’t ended well or in the desired destination. We sat for 20 minutes and then were released from detention to join the line of other planes taking off. It was the descent into New York air space that I thought long and hard about that moon. Gripping my seat for dear life, we were tossed about in jerky motions that caused me nausea and others to vocalize prayers.

Cross

Easter is on Sunday and I am ill prepared for the day. It’s my 20th anniversary holding this holiday and I’ve really fallen short of my earlier celebrations. In those early years, there were tiny pots of green grass on the table, cookies shaped like butterflies in midflight, an Easter swamp in the bathtub, a chocolate rabbit the size of my arm standing in a basket even larger on a tablecloth woven with bright ribbons. Pots of flowers in full bloom covered every horizontal surface possible causing a few allergic reactions to unwitting guests and even the host once or twice. It was a tad over the top in that Alice in Wonderland kind of way. My nieces were the perfect age to witness my bursting creativity and were delighted with every madcap addition I made. They will now have to live off those memories as I don’t think I will ever have the energy to do anything like that again. OK, I might do it one more time but the word “retired” will have to be part of my personal definition. That is many Blood and common moons from now and even then, I don’t think I’ll ever recreate the Easter Swamp as you have to be 10 to truly appreciate peeing next to such a sight.

I woke this morning in New York and will begin preparations tonight. It is in the meal that my energies are poured this year.   Most of my guests have been around that table for years and remember the days of wild exuberance. We’ve weathered many personal storms and tragedies since that time. Now it is the joy of just being together that is celebrated. At least, that’s what I hope. As of this writing, there really won’t be much more than that!

 

This entry was posted in Easter, Essay. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Wing and a Prayer

  1. elroyjones says:

    Winter has been too long, Mae. We’d have more energy if spring would make a commitment to stay.

  2. Greg says:

    An Easter swamp? You’ve piqued my curiosity now – what is that?

    • maesprose says:

      The faux swamp had plants, plastic alligators, water lilly candles – all floating in the tub. I used to ask my nieces what was their favorite part of Easter and one always answered, “The swamp.” Originally, I was putting my houseplants away for the day and went a little crazy decorating with them.

  3. oh, Mae,

    I can only imagine what was going through your head in all that turbulence and the predictions of the Blood Moon stewing in your poor head. stuff like that helps put things in perspective – like what you have considered about releasing yourself from prior easter celebrations. and you are so right – having the people you love gather at your table to enjoy what I know will be a feast of both superb food and the love you put into making it is the way to keep your eye on the prize. wish I could be one of your lucky guests! now, about that huge, honkin’ , chocolate easter bunny…that’s a different story! with chocolate, over the top is never too much! HAPPY EASTER, MAE, AND HAPPY SPRING!

    much love,

    Karen xoxoxoxo

    • maesprose says:

      Thanks Karen! Sadly, the chocolate rabbit has gone the way of the swamp. It was voted out when health problems started to get in the way.

      You have a wonderful holiday too!

  4. tw says:

    You made Easter special for the young ones in the family just at the time when they’d enjoy it most. They’ll remember it when they reach our age Mae (my Mom used to do similar things when I was a child and I still remember it very fondly). After all you’ve been through celebrations that conserve your energy so you can enjoy sharing time, food and love with your family will, I’m sure, still be much appreciated. Happy Easter Mae xoxox

  5. LB says:

    So glad you arrived home safely! My flight home from Florida 3 weeks was so awful that the pilot had to pull up out of descent. We were diverted to Greensboro and bused home. Many were angry. I was just so very glad to be on the ground! So very scary!
    Enjoy your Easter, Mae … enjoy the peace and smile over the memories of wild exuberance!

  6. John says:

    Enjoy your Easter celebrations … as you say, it is who we spend the day with, and not the fancy decorations that make the day special.

Leave a Reply

