The price of admission.

Confi Tortes

The recipe begins –

Sift flower on table. Add powder. Make a hole in the middle.
Put sugar, slightly beaten eggs, water and salt in the hole.
Cut the cold butter and add it to the flour.

I love this recipe because it demands all of me to be involved.  No bowls are needed and later in the recipe, I am elbow deep kneading the mess together on my table.  I can imagine my Swiss ancestors doing the same and I feel a connection to the past. When it comes time to roll out the dough, I use my grandmother’s rolling pin. She used it for over 75 years worth of celebrations and sorrows. My buttery fingers hold the same handles and we are for a moment together again.  Sometimes I can hear her say, “Ja, Ja und den vee make sure za dough isn’t too thick.”  By the time I knew my grandmother, she spoke neither English nor the Swiss German from her childhood.  Instead, it was a jumbled mix of both languages that she whispered in a sing-song manner.  Most of the time, I guessed what she was telling me.

December is usually a time when things slow down at work. This year it was as though everything sped up. I was busier than ever and still traveling up until last Friday. I am exhausted and my family noting my frazzled existence put it all into perspective for me. “Don’t bother to show up for Christmas without the cookies.” Colleen, her daughters and even my Dad made this statement to me separately and in their own way. The cookies they want are chocolate covered macaroons and Confi Tortes which are a Linzer torte and the recipe I mention above. I laughed when they said it but will admit that it gave me the focus I needed. For the past two days, I’ve baked and dipped nearly 150 cookies. I leave tomorrow for my Dad’s house now that I have the “goods” needed for admission!

I want to wish all of you celebrating Christmas a Merry one.  Safe travels to all and have fun!  I’ll be back before the New Year with stories. I have stories. For now, sit back and enjoy a cookie.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The price of admission.

  1. tw says:

    Merry Christmas Mae, as ever you are being wonderful for your family. Wishing you all a lovely time and a very happy and healthy New Year

  2. Terry says:

    Merry Christmas !!!

  3. LB says:

    You are such a wonderful story teller. I was almost able to hear your grandmother whispering to you!
    Merry Christmas and I’ll send thoughts for some relaxing downtime to rid you of some of that exhaustion!

    • maesprose says:

      Thanks and I hope you are having a really wonderful time celebrating. I thought of you today as my tooth were being drilled. I know you had quite a number that needed to be repaired. I hope they held up to all of the eating!

  4. K C Eames says:

    Merry Christmas Mae.

  5. Aussa Lorens says:

    That’s so cool that you have your Grandmother’s rolling pin– I wish I had a similar item (though a rolling pin would likely not get much use unless used as a weapon). I can’t believe you’ve made 150 cookies in two days?! That blows my mind.
    Can’t wait to hear more stories.

  6. maesprose says:

    150 cookies isn’t that many when you set your mind to it! I only use the rolling pin once or twice a year. I love that I have it.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  7. John says:

    I am envious of people who bake … it requires one to be fully immersed in the process, and my mind is to flighty to focus on something for that long. I’ve tried baking, with little success. Cooking, however, I am good at … it doesn’t require the same focus or attention to detail that baking does. Cooking is a bit more free form … you can improvise, like a jazz musician.

    I love the beginning of this post … it’s imagery is so poetic and musical. With very little effort, the first two paragraphs would make a lovely poem!

    Like you said to me… I’m a bit behind on my reading, so I’m just now getting around to catching up. I hope your holidays were happy … they were certainly cookie filled! 🙂

  8. elroyjones says:

    Yay, Christmas cookies!

Leave a Reply

