My date with Joe

Joe Biden 1

OK, the date didn’t go exactly as pictured above. That photo was taken off the Internet by a friend of mine and then I used my Impossible Instant Lab to make the analog “Polaroid” photo you see above. One day I will tell you all about the Instant Lab but not tonight.

My date with “Joe Biden”, which is not his real name but I will keep that detail to myself, went well. We met at 6 and talked endlessly until 10. He laughed, I laughed. He did resemble Joe Biden and if you squinted your eyes he looked a bit like Ralph Lauren. If I had put my glasses on, he would have looked more like a plain old man than any of the above. As Elroy stated in the comment portion of my last “Joe” post, there has to be a second date to make any opinion at all. Still, what I learned most from the evening is I really have to apply lipstick more often. I clean up well when I put my mind to it. Between work and the medical appointments, I forgot that detail.  I also forgot what it was like to sit in a restaurant and laugh for hours with a man over nothing.

Here’s hoping you are having a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Essay, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to My date with Joe

  1. marydpierce says:

    Is your Impossible Instant Lab PicMonkey, by any chance? I love that place. Glad your date went well and that you got to laugh a lot. Laughter is a good start for anything.

  2. John says:

    That’s very exciting! Here’s to more lipstick! For you, I mean…. 🙂

  3. So happy your date went well. It sounds to me like the two of you made a connection.

    • maesprose says:

      We did make a connection but he is not without baggage. I may have had a lot of surgery but I think he has a few wounds of his own. We’ll see. I’m just happy for the moment.

  4. elroyjones says:

    Oh! Yay! Laughing matters so much, more than anything. If a man can illicit laughter he can illicit lots of other things. I can’t wait until the second date. Really, unless he does something heinous, a third date will be required to develop an informed opinion.

  5. LB says:

    It is so easy for all of us, whether the one who has found a new relationship to explore or those watching from the sideline, to push things along. Try to just enjoy the moments and laugh more. So glad you had such a fun evening!

  6. K C Eames says:

    Great! Now that I know you are safely home I can get some sleep………. (;-)

    • maesprose says:

      Awww – you shouldn’t have waited up! My friends and I text each other when we get home after meeting up. We’re usually all taking subways or taxi’s – if I’m in Brooklyn, it’s always the subway. Anyway, I don’t know what I would do if they didn’t text. If there actually was a problem that caused the delay. Still, it’s nice to know someone wants to know if you landed safely.

  7. Very interesting. And does anyone not have baggage? Or course, there’s a limit to how much of someone else’s “baggage” we can carry around in addition to our own, right?

    • maesprose says:

      Everyone has baggage by the time you hit 50. The question is if his 5 piece set will coordinate or blend with yours. I fear in the case of “Joe” the answer is no. I admit though, I was just happy to go out after all that I have been through. It was refreshing to talk of nothing in particular.

  8. Boomdeeadda says:

    Made me laugh. If you can spend an evening with someone who can carry on good conversation AND make you laugh, I’d say that’s a win/win. Even if you have to squint a bit 😉

  9. Chas Spain says:

    It’s a blessing our eyesight goes along with our looks! – sounds like a lovely night out and new people are always good to help us look at ourselves … I had a beautiful Friday out with the girl mates – one was opening her photo exhibition (it was wonderful). So nice to have a special evening every now and then.

  10. Lynda says:

    I love your writing style, Mae. I’m glad that Laurie introduced us.

Leave a Reply

