Making sense

Waiting for sorbet

Waiting for sorbet

Yesterday, everyone I knew woke up in a bad mood.  It could have been the heat, the fact that all of the independent coffee shops in my world were closed or something lunar.  My money is on the heat but as any police officer will tell you, the moon does funny things to people.

Somewhere in the early afternoon, I met up with Lisa.  Her mood reminded me of a snapping turtle I once tried to help on the side of the road.  In the end, I kept my fingers but it was touch and go for a minute there – with the turtle that is.  With Lisa I immediately identified her mood, mentioned it and kept the conversation roped off as though there was yellow danger tape guiding us.  She knew of a coffee shop that was open and we headed there.  Iced coffee, air conditioning and a gluten free fig bar will do wonders for the soul.  While sitting there Lisa asked what I was going to do with the rest of the day.  Without thinking I just said, “I need to buy sandals with arch support.”

Her face formed a frown, “That sounds so sad.”

I agreed.  It is sad and I didn’t see it coming.  The words and the thought were all born right there in the coffee shop.  I wanted to blame that sentence on a lunar thing or heat exhaustion but that wouldn’t have been true.  As Iron Mae, I’ve been averaging 20,000 steps a day.  The dreaded moment arrived when the top of my “To Do” list had purchasing sensible shoes number 1 as my goal for the day.  In the past, I would have said, “I need a pair of knock about shoes.”  Pointing out the arch support need put me into a whole new realm.

A big sigh followed by silence.

Dinner at The Park

Dinner at The Park

Later that night we all went out to dinner at a restaurant named The Park.  The meal was delicious and my feet couldn’t have been happier…

This entry was posted in Essay, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Making sense

  1. Happy feet! Happy you!

  2. LB says:

    Now, see? I wouldn’t have thought that was sad. Just a chore on the to do list. On mine today? Change the catbox! I’ll take the glass half full approach: Job done! both the cat and I are happier and it’s on to something more fun!
    Glad you enjoyed the meal AND your happy feet!

  3. elroyjones says:

    Comfort is Queen! The best thing about being this age is wearing what I like, what feels good to me. On the 5th my husband and I drove pretty much nonstop for 12 hours. I turned into a little old lady before our very eyes- my feet swelled up like the Goodyear blimp and for the first time in the History of Me I had to put them up! It was disconcerting and, I suppose, demoralizing to see my ankles vanish. I reclined on the floor with my legs supported in the seat of a chair and fell asleep on the carpet. Another milestone in this Fascinating Life!

Leave a Reply

