Breakfast in Greenport

Coffee

I like a good cup of coffee to start my morning and my preference is to go to a small local shop.  This can be tricky as a good barista is truly an artist.  Greenport didn’t disappoint.  Aldo’s Cafe had what I desired.  Aldo himself is the barista and the only way to describe him is quirky.  Don’t ask him if he makes breakfast.  He snarled a “NO” and his blue eyes projected daggers.  Later when reading one of his reviews, it turns out once upon a time he did indeed dabble in eggs.  A nasty divorce brought that other restaurant to an end and evidently left him feeling bitter about breakfast altogether.

Soda RestaurantCounter service

My friends and I stumbled down the block to The Coronet Luncheonette.  It’s Soda Restaurant sign promised a retro feel and the eggs were perfect.  I felt like I jumped back in time.  My sister Colleen used to work in a store that had a soda fountain.  The owner would go off in the afternoon to drink in a tavern down the block and Lisa and I would go in and play at the counter.  We used to make Egg Creams there which was retro even then.  An old patron taught us how and now whenever I see an old fountain I think of Egg Creams.  I did not get one at The Coronet.  I ate my breakfast and headed back to Aldo’s Cafe for the perfect Latte.

This entry was posted in Memories, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Breakfast in Greenport

  1. elroyjones says:

    A nasty divorce brought that other restaurant to an end and evidently left him feeling bitter about breakfast altogether. hahahahahahaha! Excellent opening sentence for a story.

  2. LB says:

    I agree with the previous comment. You always tell such a good story!

Leave a Reply

