Sending Strength for Susie

Peony

Susie Lindau’s latest wild ride is one she never planned on.  Diagnosed with breast cancer this past April, she announced her news to the world on May 18.  Today she underwent a double mastectomy.  You can read about it in her own words here.  I send her strength and solidarity in the coming weeks.  I know by her attitude that she will find the implant process one of the most amazing art projects she will ever work on.   For now though, send her your kindest thoughts and strength.  My fingers are crossed that the cancer was contained in her breasts.  I know many who have not had that good fortune and the tough road that follows.

I wish Susie were the only woman I knew this month who was diagnosed with breast cancer.  She is in fact the third.  I don’t know if it is my age or that I am suddenly so painfully aware of the disease myself after my own journey.  I do know we need to do something and a pink ribbon isn’t the answer.  One of the foundations I like is run by Dr. Susan Love and you can donate to her research here. 

This entry was posted in Cancer, Essay. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sending Strength for Susie

  1. Terry says:

    Yes, it’s crazy, just too much of this.

  2. LB says:

    Mae, thank you for directing us to Susie’s blog. I spent some time looking at her blog and posts pre-breast cancer diagnosis and she sounds like a fun, fascinating person. Knowing that I am writing this to a breast cancer survivor, I have to also say that I loved that she has focused so much on heart disease in women, the number one killer of women and a disease that affects 50% of us (me included). She has been a champion of focusing on heart health and I’m sure she will now, like you, be a strong voice for breast health.
    Having said that, I am sorry you have been surrounded by new diagnoses this month. I am sure you will be an awesome friend to those women (I assume women) who must now travel down this road.

    • maesprose says:

      Laurie – I think what is happening is friends are sending me their friends and family in need. It’s almost as though I am an initial guide who helps then get used to the language and the idea of breast cancer itself. Some need only to talk a few times and others I hear from more often.

      Heart health is very important. Especially with lowered estrogen, that’s one of the concerns. I am sorry to read that you have been affected by this disease too.

  3. susielindau says:

    Thank you so much for the shout Mae! I believe that my excellent prognosis is due to your words and others who informed thousands who prayed and sent positive energy. I have all of you to thank for my wonderful prognosis! I felt buoyed by all the support!
    Sending cyber ((((hugs)))) your way!!!

  4. Pingback: The Boob Report – Bosom Boosting Buddies | Susie Lindau's Wild Ride

Leave a Reply

