Three

Three

Three years.

Three years cancer free.

My anniversary was this past week.  I let out an audible sigh when the hour passed in which my operation had taken place.  I remember every detail of that day.  I couldn’t recognize the moment with much more than a sigh as I was traveling for business at the time.  My arm wrapped up in bandages keeping lymphedema at bay as I flew across the country.  My head wrapped up in meetings planned for the week.  I took a pause in my day to remember that time in my life and to be thankful for my luck as that had a lot to do with where I am today.  Three years later my life is very much back to normal.

I can’t believe it’s been three years.  I thank my sisters and my friends who helped me get through it all.  Physically and mentally there were some very dark days.  My mother’s death amidst my own dance with cancer and all of the operations I endured because of it.  In the end, I prefer the figure I have now and very much like the scars that I wear.  They are a constant reminder of how strong I am and my new breasts are a work of art as far as I am concerned.  Cancer didn’t make me nicer, more compassionate or show me how to love more.  I was already nice, compassionate and capable of love.  It did make me less patient with people who get caught up in petty arguments and daily dramas of their own making.  I will never understand that behavior.  Yes, I am more aware now of each new day and how much I enjoy breathing in them.  I even like the dark, dismal rainy ones.

As of this week, I am working on my fourth year without cancer!

This entry was posted in Cancer, Essay. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Three

  1. Beachbums1 says:

    Congratulations on three years cancer free!! Here’s to your continued good health!

  2. John says:

    Whoo hoo! That’s great Mae! Though, seriously — you should have stood up on that plane and let out a big ol’ Woot Woot! 🙂

    • maesprose says:

      Yes, and then they would have thrown me off the plane and taken me to the nearby pokey. A bad photo would have been taken as well as a stern warning. Then next year I would be celebrating my fourth year cancer free and my one year “bad” moment with the police! It’s best I just sigh!

  3. sachified says:

    Hi! I just stumbled upon your blog, and this post made me happy. 🙂 Congratulations! I wish you all the best that life has to offer. 🙂

  4. jdschok says:

    Congratulation!! May you be blessed with good health always.

  5. LB says:

    Three things (how appropriate) struck me:
    1. What an awesome anniversary!
    2. Yes, scars make us stronger. They are our badges of honor and remind us of battles fought and won!
    3. ATD: an acronym I came up with a year ago = Avoid the Drama. There are far more important and dramatic things to deal with then petty arguments and fake drama. Ugh!
    So very happy for you!! Here’s to the 4th year … and many more!!!

  6. Don Ostertag says:

    Great!!! Wonderful anniversary. I’m going on almost ten years since I was told I had a form of leukemia. I understand what you mean when you say you are aware of each day, even the dark and dismal ones. Continued good health…

  7. elroyjones says:

    Hooray for you, Mae! Wonderful post. This is my favorite part- “Cancer didn’t make me nicer, more compassionate or show me how to love more. I was already nice, compassionate and capable of love. It did make me less patient with people who get caught up in petty arguments and daily dramas of their own making. I will never understand that behavior.” No time to waste, right there with you!

  8. I think all of the responses above have all said it so well already, but I just had to add my two cents worth of congrats for defeating a mighty foe!

  9. maesprose says:

    Thank you Donna!

Leave a Reply

