Saved by Friday

Some trees still only have thier bones showing with nary a leaf in sight

A few trees still only have their bones showing with nary a leaf in sight

Some weeks hold such strange energy there is nothing you can do but ride the storm.  This past week was one of them.  Nothing in particular was wrong but everything felt off and no task could be completed without a hitch or two.  By Wednesday, I wanted the week over.  I would whisper in the morning before I opened my eyes, “Please make it Friday.”  This morning I got my wish.

Flowers bloomed overhead this week.  I did stop to look and admire.

Flowers bloomed overhead this week. I did stop to look and admire.

Lisa ended her 10 year career with the company she worked for this week.  I didn’t like the way things played out so I wished a pox on everyone involved.  I was on the phone with Lisa when I did this and I admit I ranted it more than once.  “I wish a pox on them.”  Just moments later after hanging up with Lisa, I went out to my car to drive to an appointment and my tire was flat.  Super flat.  So flat it took a good half hour to pump it up so I could drive to have it repaired.  When I got to the little shop on 10th Avenue and 34th Street in Manhattan they told me in very broken English it couldn’t be repaired.  Hand signals accentuated the problem and that I needed a new one.  Of course, that was after the contents of my trunk were thrown up onto the sidewalk proving I keep far too much in my trunk.  It was a mess.

I had to drive to Queens to a Pep Boys there to replace the tire.  The fellow behind the desk said they were backed up and it would be a bit of a wait.  Then he made a face that reminded me of the one I make when I’m served peas.  I made the same face back at him and said, “OK.”  That was code for crap.  In all the tire “episode” took 5 hours out of my day and I never made it to my client’s office.  The pox I vehemently wished on others blew back at me.  I laughed at my lesson learned; don’t wish ill will on others.

Lisa is actually very happy with the turn of events and her future.  I was just being protective.

This entry was posted in Essay. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saved by Friday

  1. John says:

    Yeah, you gotta be careful with the pox thing… it’s not one of those curses that’s easy to control… pox goes where pox wants. 🙂

    Hopefully you’ll have a pox-free, fantastic weekend!

  2. maesprose says:

    Where were you and your sage advice when I went on my rant! I have to admit I don’t even know what possessed me to suddenly talk about pox’s. You are right, pox goes where pox wants and I won’t be messing with that again.

    Wishing you a wonderful weekend too!

  3. LB says:

    I’ll not soon forget “pox goes where pox wants”! Glad Lisa is okay with how things turned out and hopefully she appreciates you being protective!! (and I sure am spoiled by my small town and the availability of tire service).
    Happy Saturday, Mae!

Leave a Reply

