I have been glued to the TV all week

Wrigley Building

What a week and it’s still filled with news and drama as I write.  I went to Chicago for a convention.  I left on Sunday, a day early, to meet up with a friend who is going through a horrible divorce.  We took a boat ride on the lake which was perfect for letting her story unfold.  As the wind whipped through our hair, she was finally able to tell the complete story.  She still lives with her soon to be ex after two years and the stress in unimaginable.  He refuses to leave and lives in the guest bedroom.  Paperwork and court dates promise an end is in sight.  I hadn’t heard any of the details as her son has always been with us and nothing could or would be said in front of him.  Her husband has misbehaved and it is not for me to disclose here.  I also had no advice for her.  All I could offer was an ear, words of encouragement and friendship.  I know when you go through things like this you feel so very alone.  My only hope was to let her know by my actions, she is not.

Back of the boat

Our conversation seemed to have set the tone for the week.  Besides the news from Boston, the explosion in Texas and mail with poison; there was weather.  Thursday morning with bags packed and ready to go I got a call from Delta.  “Your trip has been canceled,” said the computer voice.  The television showed sink holes and streets flooded.  I knew getting out of town would be a challenge and it was.  I wasn’t able to fly home until this morning.  From the back of the plane, I took this photo.  I was ready to come home.

Wing of Plane

As I finish writing this up, the search for the second suspect has been resolved.  My heart goes out to all those whose lives were changed this week.

This entry was posted in Essay. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I have been glued to the TV all week

  1. elroyjones says:

    Mine too, lots of sadness for everyone concerned.

  2. maesprose says:

    Yes, even now all of it seems so strange.

  3. LB says:

    Some how your photos have been the perfect expression of the emotion that prompted your post …

Leave a Reply

