Fun

Pod flowers

“Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?”
– Mary Oliver

Last night I couldn’t sleep.  I was too happy.  It was as if cartoon blue birds twirled around my head and my mind floated around which unrealized dreams and desires I wanted to concentrate my efforts on.  What to do, what to do with my one wild and precious life.  Yesterday’s news awoke my passion for living and not just breathing through the hours of the day.  For the first two weeks of 2013, I’ve been chained to my desk writing reports to my home office qualifying and quantifying my time and efforts.  I am happy to report that my existence seems to be paying off for the company I work for.  I think I should take a bit of time to qualify and quantify my efforts towards those dreams and desires that make my heart smile.  I fear I would not be as pleased with those results!

Pod flowers 2

These days of solitude with my eyes focused on my computer and a muttered conversation between me, myself and I leave me restless.  I have five weeks of vacation and a very gaunt wallet to plan adventure with.  That house I write and dream about will require a healthy sum of money to purchase one day.  It should come as no surprise that saving money is a tiresome bore yet so very necessary.  I just can’t let it get in the way and need to channel my college self who survived without a cash machine on every corner.  There is another quote from Mary Oliver I love.

“I want to think again of dangerous and noble things. I want to be light and frolicsome. I want to be improbable and beautiful and afraid of nothing as though I had wings.”

My challenge is how to blend the practical and the fanciful.  By now you might be thinking, “What’s with those weird flowers?”  They are pods I found a few months ago at the Farmers Market.  I loved them because I had no idea what they were.  They reminded me of that black and white movie from ages ago when pods land on earth and grow replica humans inside.  I secretly wonder what would happen if one day I awoke with the exuberance for life I used to wake with every morning?  Would it change the results of my day?    Tomorrow I go back out on the road again to meet with clients and in the hours of windshield time between here and there I will develop a plan to recapture some cheap fun.  No doubt, it’s the execution that will be the challenge.

This entry was posted in Essay. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fun

  1. aimp10 says:

    Love Mary Oliver! Here’s one of my favorites “…Whoever you are, no matter how lonely,
the world offers itself to your imagination,
calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting -
over and over announcing your place
in the family of things” Mary Oliver

  2. Hello,
    I just wanted to say that, while the writing on your blog is quite good, I am particularly taken with your photographs. Very nice work and an excellent blog!

  3. Toner Laser says:

    Thanks to share yr nice information with us!

Leave a Reply

