In the Dark

I live in Chelsea, New York and in case you hadn’t heard we’ve been in the dark since Monday night. I’ve been trying to channel my “Little House on the Prairie” attitude. I can now attest with complete certainty that the late 1800’s, early 1900’s and really any time before Thomas Edison invented electricity were not all that much fun. Still, it hasn’t been all that bad either. Neighbors have banned together and we are laughing a lot. People on the street have been kind. At night, you do get the feeling you’re in a bad movie and that Zombies will arrive at any moment.

Today I ventured uptown to a friends kitchen. I can work up here without having to watch how much power I have left or if there are any bars on my phone. Cell service is down too. For the past two days I’ve been huddled around power strips in the most odd locations. Food has been no problem, it’s electric juice I’m addicted to.

I know there are others in the area that have lost so much more. My heart goes out to them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In the Dark

  1. Big Girl says:

    Laura Ingalls did make it sound a bit fun and romantic..it is not. Keep coping…in every crisis there is opportunity!

  2. Tracy says:

    Mae, I’m sad for you and for everyone affected by Sandy. I hope your beautiful city will recover along with all the others. You’re in our thoughts.

  3. Laurie says:

    I’m sure it will mend, too … and your honest description of addiction to electric juice is what all of us are addicted to. And we NEED these occasional reminders of what it is like without it and how we might manage without it. Please don;t get me wrong … I do NOT want people to have to go through the tragedies of Louisiana, Japan and New York (and countless others), but they do remind us of how much we depend on a fairly fragile resource.

Leave a Reply

