A Day at the Beach

I played hooky from my life today by taking off to the beach.  Atlantic Beach to be exact as  Vita has a cabana there.  She called early this morning with the tantalizing proposition,  “Let’s go swimming in the Ocean.  Sara wants to make us deviled eggs and I can make us a spinach dip.”  She knows she has just described the perfect summer day.  I whispered back, “I have organic blueberries and watermelon in my refrigerator.  I’m in.”

Temperatures were forecasted to be flirting near 100.  My day was lightly scheduled and most of it easily shelved.  I drove out to Vita’s house by 9:30.  She and her daughter Sara jumped in the car and we were floating in the Ocean by 10:30.  Seagulls flew overhead and the soft crashing of the waves lulled us as we floated on our backs.  We swam until 12:00 and then headed back to the cabana walking across the scorching sand.  A warm breeze dried our skin as we walked until there was nothing left of the ocean but a salty residue.

The cabana is a small windowless room that is part of an old wooden structure.  When you are there, you are enveloped in a timeless sense of summer.  It could be the 1940’s, 1970’s or 2012.  The clip clop of your shoes against the wooden boardwalk defines the season.  Worries dissipate with every step.

I’m not sure who started the tradition of eating hard boiled eggs at the beach but it is something I have done since I was a child.  My Uncle Paul used to make egg salad sandwiches wrapped in wax paper.  The paper was usually damp from the cooler and no matter how hard I tried, sand would always mix with the egg.  Eventually, I began to love this extra ingredient.

It was Sara today who made us the eggs.  She learned it from an old Russian woman who spent her summers there in a neighboring cabana.  Below is the recipe Sara told me over lunch.

Atlantic Beach Deviled Eggs

6 Organic Eggs Hardboiled – cut lengthwise with the yolks removed

Take yolks and mash them up – a lot.

3 Tablespoons of Pickled Relish mix into finely mashed yolks

3 teaspoons Trader Joe’s organic Mayonaise mixed into yolks

Pinch of salt and pepper

Put a dollop of the yolk mixture into the indent of the halved half of the cooked egg-whites.

Top with a pickled red pepper

Vita says to add 2 finely chopped green onions to the yolk mixture if you want perfection.  I say if you are at the beach, leave the eggs on the table to catch some sand carried by the breeze.

It was a wonderful day!  Happy Summer everyone.

This entry was posted in Essay, Uncategorized, Vita and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

