Honey

Honey

“The honey is in!” I tell Vita. We have both been waiting for this day as our supplies from last year are dwindling. My uncle is a beekeeper and has been for the last 40 years. Every fall he bottles this sweet nectar and I sell it for him. Truth be told, Vita and I are his best customers. The honey is raw which means it is unpasteurized and since his garden is organic the honey is of the very best quality. Honey has extraordinary health benefits. It has even been rumored to help fight against cancer. Vita and I have both had breast cancer and we will do anything to keep a reoccurrence at bay. “It tastes good too!” Vita is always quick to remind me of that. I don’t need her to. I have a teaspoon a day with cinnamon in my yogurt or quinoa. I have no idea if it will help me become an old woman. I do know that if I eat too much I will become a large woman!

 

Vita and I are best friends in an old fashioned kind of way. Our friendship spans three decades and it’s layered with secrets, confidences, heartbreaks and inane conversations that are bound with intense loyalty. There is nothing in this world I wouldn’t do for her and I know she feels the same.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Honey

  1. Penelope says:

    Your attitude is admirable.

    Such a friendship is to be treasured.

Leave a Reply

